he Amarillo College Conservatory was founded in 2011 by Linda D. Hughes.
We are a non-profit organization that is able to thrive due to our host institution, Amarillo College. We proudly endorse each and every experience instructor, and constantly strive to raise the bar of what the community expects of youth theatre. We exist in Ordway Hall, which is attached to Russell Hall. Ordway hall was named after George Ordway in 1936, the year the building was built, in honor of his successful efforts to have the state recognize the school as an official Community College. A portrait of Mr. George Ordway still hangs in the lobby to this day.
Ordway Hall is the oldest building on the Washington Street Campus. Ordway certainly is inspiring, but it also holds many mysteries.
Carved into each of the western corners are pairs of gnomes engaged in the acts of reading and writing.
The building was constructed in 1936-37 as the administration building when Amarillo College moved to Washington Street, and it later was given its familiar name in honor of George Ordway, the first president of the board of trustees and one of two men responsible for establishing AC. The classrooms today may be equipped with projection screens and high-powered computers, but the actual building still is all original.
"Just being in Ordway can make a person feel smarter." - AC Ranger
The accessibility of most parts of the building reflects the belief that education should be available to all.
Ordway Hall has been registered as a Texas Historic Landmark since 2008, meaning it’s safe from all the cold, modern renovation and construction projects going on around campus.
Ordway is not just a landmark to the state of Texas; it is also a treasure for any and all of Amarillo's youth.